A Brief History

Sapatgram College is the only institution of higher education in this highly backward area of western Assam. It was started at the initiative of some local people interested in dissemination of higher education in this economically backward area. The college came into existence as a result of the untiring efforts and sacrifices of some of the leading personalities of the area like Late Panchanan Badhuri, Late Panchanan Medhi, Late Indubhusan Bhadra, Late Sunilal Narzary, Sri Santosh Kumar Dutta, Sri Samar Kanti Poit, Mr. P.K. Das, Mr A. Bhaduri, Mr Pabitra Kr. Das, Sri Ranajit Saha, Md. Sirajuddin Ahmed and others. Initially the college functioned from the Kachari building of the Zamindar of Parbatjoar situated in Ward No. 1 of Sapatgram Town on the 7th August 1972. Later on, it was shifted to its present site. Then Late Lilananda Thakur (commonly known as Pagal Baba) donated a building along with 1 (one) bigha of land to the College which helped the college a lot in the initial period. The College is, at present, spread over an area of 25 (twenty five) bighas of land in the Sonamoyee Gaon Panchayat on the banks of the river Loska, allotted to the College by the Government of Assam.

The College was accorded affiliation by Gauhati University in 1980-81. Subsequently, it was brought under the Deficit Grants - in - Aid system on the 1st September 1983 due to the active help of Late Ranendra Narayan Basumatary, Ex-Cabinet Minister of Assam.The College was recognized by the University Grants Commission under Section 2(f) and 12 (B) of the UGC Act, 1956 in July, 2002. In December, 2004 the college was assessed by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Bangalore and was accorded the grade C++.

The College came under Provincialisation Act from 1st December 2005. Conforming to the National Pattern of Education (10+2+3 system), this full- fledged Degree College imparts two- year Higher Secondary and three- year Degree courses of studies in Arts stream and one year Regular PGDCA Course. The college has undergone the 2nd cycle of assessment by NAAC, Bangalore and has been accorded the Grade B with CGPA 2.52 in February, 2016.

The College was under the stewardship of a number of educationists and administrators at different times. Sri R.K. Sharma was the founder Principal of the College. After him Sri R.N. Pandey took over the administration of the College as Principal. The great scholar and renowned economist, Dr B.P Mishra, was the Principal of the College from 4.9.1981 to 21.4.1982. Sri S.P Mukherjee remained the Principal i/c from time to time. Sri A. K Sengupta remained the Principal i/c for a short period. Sri. D. Sarkar joined the College as Principal on 1.4.1984 and continued up to 30.11.1996. Sri S.P. Mukherjee again became the Principal i/c till 30.5.99. Sri N. Roy remained the Principal i/c from 1.6.99 upto 1st August 2005. Dr T. K. Sarmah joined the College as Principal on 2nd August 2005 and continued up to 29.2.2016. Mr. S. K. Panigrahi remained the Principal I/C from 1.3.2016 to 19.07.2016. Dr. R. P. Singh joined as the Principal on 20.07.2016.

Copyright © 2022 Sapatgram College
Powered By S.S. Technologies